Team United Kingdom reveals 7-player World Cup roster

After a week of player announcements from popular UK content creators via social media Team United Kingdom have narrowed down their 12-player shortlist to a finalized 7-player roster.

Last year United Kingdom finished in fourth place after opening up their World Cup by defeating the United States 3-1 in the quarterfinals. Team UK would move on to face South Korea in the semi-finals and were the sole team to take South Korea to a map draw. Outside of that map, South Korea hadn’t dropped a single map throughout the playoffs. In the bronze match United Kingdom fell to Canada in a thrilling 5-map series.

This year’s Lions share a lot of similarities to last year’s squad only adding one new player to the mix. Returning to create space on the front line are Cameron “Fusions” Boswort and Eoghan “Smex” O’Neill. They’ll look to give the DPS duo of Kai “KSP” Collins and Finley “Kyb” Adis room to work with. Isaac “Boombox” Charles and Harrison “Kruise” Pond will return as the team’s support duo but with Daniel “FunnyAstro” Hathaway making his Team United Kingdom debut it leaves room for Kruise to serve as the team’s 3rd DPS option.

Kruise is the only player on the roster to compete on Team United Kingdom since the World Cup first began. He’s on a short list of players to accomplish this joining the likes of Surefour (Canada), Zappis (Finland), Shadowburn (Russia), Harryhook (Spain), oPuTo (Thailand), and Mickie (Thailand)

United Kingdom will look to stand atop the preliminary rounds to secure their spot in the group stage which will kick off at this year’s BlizzCon. Both the group stage and the playoffs will take place on the main stage at BlizzCon.

United Kingdom (Rank 6)

  • DPS:
    • Kyb (Philadelphia Fusion)
    • KSP (XL2 Academy)
  • Tank:
    • Fusions (Boston Uprising)
    • Smex (Montreal Rebellion)
  • Support:
    • Boombox (Philadelphia Fusion)
    • FunnyAstro (ATL Academy)
    • Kruise (Paris Eternal) 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *