Team South Korea reveals 7-player World Cup roster

With the Overwatch World Cup right around the corner the top ranked South Korea team have revealed its finalized seven-player roster. South Korea will look to claim their fourth consecutive World Cup championship.

The sole returning player from last year’s championship roster is DPS player Jae-hyeok “Carpe” Lee. The only other player who has played on Team South Korea in the past is main tank Dong-gyu “Mano” Kim who will return to the World Cup stage for the first time since 2017.

Minho “Architect” Park and Hyojong “Haksal” Kim will look to bring some additional firepower to the DPS line. Haksal was at the forefront of the Overwatch League earlier in the season with his exceptional Brigitte play and broke out his dragonblade last week against the Florida Mayhem setting a new Overwatch League record for most dragonblade kills in a series.

Joining Mano on the tank line is off-tank Hyo-bin “ChoiHyoBin” Choi who will also be making his World Cup debut. ChoiHyoBin’s Roadhog could play a crucial role in South Korea’s success should the “pulled pork” tank lineup remain in the spotlight. His consistency on D.Va is no slouching matter either.

South Korea’s support line will look drastically different this year bringing in two new faces to the squad. Ho-jin “iDK” Park will be starting as the main support with Seung-tae “Bdosin” Choi starting as flex support.

Despite the number of changes to this year’s lineup South Korea are still the heavy favorites to take home the gold. South Korea has taken home every gold medal since the Overwatch World Cup’s inception. They’ll look to make it four in a row at Blizzcon starting on November 1st.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *